New plan and board members for MTAA

Latest News

The Medical Technology Association of Australia (MTAA) has adopted a new strategic plan and announced the appointment of four new board members.

The strategic plan, covering the years 2017-20, follows its recent agreement with government incorporating price cuts for devices on the Prostheses List and a period of policy stability.

In a statement, the association said the plan focuses on "collaboration as a pathway to grow the MTAA, with a broad-based alliance that includes researchers, manufacturers, distributors, clinicians, providers, funders and consumers. MTAA will be focused on widening engagement, expanding a base for representation and advocacy to bring benefits to members."

“We are proud to share this Strategic Plan as we seek to develop MTAA’s leadership role through collaboration," said CEO Ian Burgess. 

“The industry needs to continue to engage with the government to move forward on a long list of issues, from regulation of combination devices to further reform of the Prostheses List.  

“In addition, by better understanding and meeting the needs of MTAA members, we will be a stronger and more sustainable organisation into the future."

Its new elected board members are Medtronic's Michele Blanshard, Matt Muscio from LifeHealthcare, Dr Samih Nabulsi from Cook Medical and Craig Stamp from Device Technologies.

J&J Medical's Gavin Fox-Smith was reappointed chair, with Terumo's Rebecca Cortuila and Baxter's Steven Flynn appointed vice-chairs.

The association announced the creation of a Women in MedTech board committee.

"This builds on initiatives such as our sell-out Women in MedTech seminar in August to hear speakers share their thoughts on opportunities they took, how they overcame challenges and how they celebrated their triumphs," it said.

According to Mr Fox-Smith, “We’re very pleased to welcome Dr Samih Nabulsi, Matt Muscio, Craig Stamp and Michele Blanshard to the Board.

“On behalf of the Board, I extend my sincere thanks to the outgoing Board members who have all made valuable contributions over the years and in particular for their steadfast support and wise counsel throughout this year.”