Detail of departmental restructure

Latest News

The leadership of the Department of Health's Technology, Assessment and Access division has been confirmed.

Penny Shakespeare has returned as first assistant secretary of the Technology, Assessment and Access division, having acted as deputy secretary of the Health Benefits area following the retirement of Andrew Stuart.

Marck Cormack, previously deputy secretary of the Department's 'Strategic Policy and Innovation' area, is the new deputy secretary of Health Benefits, now interestingly renamed 'Health Financing'.

The area includes a raft of contentious policy areas, including private health insurance, PBS, diagnostic imaging, pathology and the ongoing review of the Medicare Benefits Schedule.

Three assistant secretaries in the TAA division have been confirmed in their existing roles: Louise Clarke (Office of Health Technology Assessment - Policy), Julianne Quaine (PHI and Pharmacy) and Lisa La Rance (Pricing and PBS Policy).

The new face is Dr Harry Rothenfluh, who will succeed Tracey Duffy as assistant secretary of the Office of Health Technology Assessment - Assessment.

Dr Rothenfluh has been at the TGA, working for former senior PBS official Adriana Platona PSM, as assistant secretary of Manufacturing Quality in the Medical Devices and Product Quality division.

David Weiss remains first assistant secretary of the Medical Benefits Division, which includes the Medicare Reviews Unit, led by assistant secretary Andrew Simpson.

The new structure also includes several High Priority Taskforces, including one on 'Long-term Health Reform', led by Maria Jolly and Charles Maskell-Knight.